top of page
  • Writer's pictureGonzález Burguete Group

My London 2012 Olympic Adventure

Updated: Sep 21, 2023

The London 2012 Olympic Games was one of my biggest adventure since living in London. The Olympic Games is something that needs to be experienced as the excitement that the host city lives during those two amazing weeks, is something that everyone person should live at least once in their lifetime. Since Tokyo Games were postponed until 2021 due to the health crisis the world is facing, I though it will be nice to remember the Games I experienced.


The London 2012 Olympic Games started on 27th July 2012 and ended on 12th August 2012 and I was able to experience them with my brother and husband. During my adventure, we were able to enjoy every aspects of the games as a lot of things happen as the same time in London.


My experience with the Olympic Games was very involved as: I was a volunteer for the opening and closing ceremony, we had tickets to enter the Olympic park during the games, and we experienced the city environment all over London.


My interest in the Olympic Games started from a very young age as Mexico City hosted the Games back in 1968. All over the city, if you look closely you could see the legacy of the Games. The biggest legacy was the friendship route (Ruta de la Amistad), which consists on huge sculptures located in main avenues around the Olympic Village. Therefore, with the curiosity of a child I learnt about the Olympic Games.


My mother used to tell us about her adventures of chasing autographs and photographs from athletes at the Olympic Village, and watching the games on television. However, since I knew that Mexico will never host the games again there was no chance of me living this experience and I left this childhood dream behind.


After arriving to Liverpool for studying in 2002, I found out that the next Summer Olympic Games was in Athens in 2004. I thought that the closest I could be to the Olympics was to visit the city before to the games and enjoyed the preparations. Therefore, I arrived in Athens during Easter 2003 and as planned, the city was preparing for the games. I was able to enjoy a little of these festivities and then bought lots of souvenir. In 2004, I was living in Oxford when the Athens Games happened and we enjoyed it over the television as I have done before.


However, in 2005 everything changed as London won the bid to host the Olympics for the third time and the Olympic Games were scheduled for summer 2012. From this moment, I decided that I would like to be participated as a volunteer and acquired as many tickets as possible for as many sports that I could. However, I took six years until I could start with my preparation.


Before the Games, and after six years of waiting for news of the games; everything began starting with the application as a volunteer, then the applications for tickets and then the waiting for good news. I was ready any prepared to achieve my dream, however, it was surprising when talking to friends to realise that they were not at all involved or expecting the games as myself. However, in order to achieve my dream, I needed to be ready and prepared, and I was.


In August 2011, the applications for the Ceremonies Volunteer Performer were opened, so I applied promptly. In September, I was invited for an audition to participate in both the opening and closing ceremony of the Olympic Games. The initial audition took place middle of November, and the recall audition (second audition) at the end of November.


In November 2011, I was informed that my application for tickets was successful and we had tickets for the basketball and hockey. However, my brother decided that he was coming for the games so I bought tickets for the football as he wanted to see Mexico.


In February 2012, I received an email with the great news that I was offered a role as part of the Ceremonies Volunteer Performance team and I was lucky enough to be part of both the Opening and Closing Ceremony for the Olympic Games. Therefore, I was very happy as I had the best seats for the ceremonies and tickets to see the Games.


In May 2012, there was a resale of all the unwanted tickets and I bought last minute tickets for the basketball (as I needed an extra ticket for my brother), handball (as we needed an extra ticket for the hockey day), table tennis and the orbit (the observation platform at the Olympic park).


In June 2012, all preparation for the games were done and we were ready for the games. I was already having rehearsals inside the stadium and enjoying the early access. Therefore, after 7 years of anticipation and on the eve of the Opening Ceremony, I was very nervous as my debut as volunteer but I was ready to attend the games and enjoyed my first Olympic Games.


On Day 1, 27th July 2012, finally the day of the Opening Ceremony arrived. My day started very early as I managed to take an early shift and left around 1pm. This was a big day for me, not only was the Opening Ceremony but I had been practicing my performance for this night over the last three months and all of us were ready.


I arrived before time like always and after clearing the security checks at the main entrance, I made my way to the souvenir shop and got a programme with my name on it. After my souvenir shopping, I made my way to the checking area.


After checking-in, I got another programme, got a meal pack for the day (sandwich, fruit, crisps and water), picked my radio, and went to my holding area which was next to the athletes’ entrance below the flag mount.


On my walk from the checking-in point to the holding area, I was able to explore the lower ground of the stadium where all the props were storage. After viewing the balloons for the last 10 seconds countdown, I made my way to the holding area where I changed, left my personal items and picked my utility bag, which had two torches with red cones, 250 pieces of 3D glasses, and three lovely collectable bottoms.


After picking all my kit, I was finally ready to take my position at the bottom of the stairs and picked the huge wrap silk that would be deployed at the beginning of the games. Therefore, I was in my position at 5pm and I was ready to start receiving spectators as this was part of my job.


Then the show began, in my opinion it was the best show in the planet. My job finished before the athletes’ parade as my colleagues changed position and I was free to move around unsupervised as I looked like my colleagues. My position was on top of the bell on the top level. However, I wanted to explore around and see the rest of the show from a different position. I went to the main level and saw part of the parade and even saw Mexico’s athletes. During my stayed at the main level, I saw the preparations for Sir Paul McCartney’s grand finale.


After this, I decided that I wanted to see the end of the show from higher level and made my way to my volunteer’s position. Since my job was over, I decided to seat next to the press photographers, as in my opinion they had the best seats of the house.


On every rehearsal, even the two-dress rehearsal, the show never went beyond the athletes’’ parade, therefore, I was like any other spectator as I was enjoying show. The most kept secret was the lighting of the torch, as I was there every day rehearsal and there was not construction. Therefore, my surprise was when I found out that every piece of the cauldron was brought by every nation at the parade and was ensemble on-site.


After the amazing Opening Ceremony, I was so excited that I decided to walk at stadium level through the VIP section. The objective was to gather as many autographs as possible from the athletes, however, I was able to find some amazing lunch bags that were given to people at the VIP section.


After a long walk, I arrived to the holding area to collect my belonging and my participation diploma with my name perfectly spelled. I left the stadium via the athletes’ entrance and I was able to see various athletes on their way to the Olympic Village.


I exited the park via Stratford Gate, the same way I entered, and made my way to the bus station as that was my way home. I arrived home around 1.30am after an amazing day and my family was waiting for me to tell them my adventure. However, we needed to sleep as the following day was the beginning of our experience as a family and the day was packed with lots of activities.


On Day 2, we were ready for our first adventure at the games as it was the first day of the games. The session that we were attending was the Women’s Basketball Games at 2.30pm at the Basketball Arena inside the Olympic Park. This was the first time that we could access as a family the park and enjoyed the perks of an almost empty park.


After a light breakfast, we took the bus towards Stratford City and then towards Eton Manor Gate as this was the entrance closets to the Basketball Arena. We entered the Olympic Park via Eton Gate and we took the buggy as my husband’s leg was hurting and he was using crunches.


We stopped in front of the gates of the Basketball Arena and before entering we decided to have some lunch as it was almost 3pm. After lunch, we entered the arena but we had different locations as I bought the tickets at different time. In any case because of my husband’s leg condition, he was given a seat in the lower levels and after the halftime, I made my way to seat with my family where we enjoyed the rest of the sessions, which included both half-time entertainment and the in-between games entertainment.


After the games, we made our way around the Olympic Park stopping at the Samsung pavilion in the first instance. In there, my husband surveyed the mobiles and I got lots of free pins. While doing this, we spotted two Turkish Basketball players and I approached them and asked for autographs and a picture with them. I decided that I could this with all my tickets and get a much better souvenir.


After this, we continued our tour of the park and we entered the Acer installation, the Coca-Cola display and the Panasonic exhibition before arriving in front of the Olympic stadium. In there, we were able to take amazing photographs in front of the stadium at sunset.


After our amazing photographic session, I decided that it was time to go souvenir shopping and I had a shopping spree. Then, we made our way to McDonalds, which was the biggest ever built in Europe and we had dinner.


After dinner, we continued our walked around the Olympic Park and reached the South Side Gate where the BMW exhibition was located and we had fun inside.


After an amazing first day at the Olympic Park, we made our way to the South Gate exit towards the bus station in order to return home as the next day was going to be our last day at the Olympic Park and we needed it to be better than this day.


On Day 3, we returned to the Olympic Park and this was our last day as a family so we decided to take advantages of this. This was a very packed day as we had tickets for the Orbit, Hockey and Handball.


After a nice breakfast at home, we took the bus towards Stratford City. We entered via the main gate around 11.30am as we had tickets to enter the Orbit at 12pm, the observation tower. Once there, we queued and then took the lift towards the observation tower. The observation tower has an open-air area, where I was able to take a 360°view of the Olympic Park and even some part of East London.


After the longest photographic session, we decided to have lunch and chose a jacket potato without realising that they were sold out at 1pm and took around 20min to get them cook and started the lunch service again.


After lunch, we took again the buggy towards the Riverbank as my husband was still walking with crutches. The hockey was played at the Riverbank Arena; however, I only able had two tickets so my husband and brother were the ones attending this session.


In the meantime, the rain started and I bought a nice waterproof jacket. Then I entered the Coca-Cola exhibition area as it was empty and at the end, I was able to take a photograph with the Olympic torch with the Olympic Stadium in the background.


After the hockey game, I met my family and we enjoyed the sunset while waiting for the handball session to start, as I was attending this alone. After this, I made my way to the Copper Box where the handball was being hosted. The session consisted of two games Montenegro vs GB and Norway vs France. The session started at 7.30pm and I had a nice seat in the lower level.


This is one of those games that I just knew it existed during my research of the Olympic Games, as I have never seen this before. In any case, I enjoyed the game but I was searching for an autograph. Therefore, in between the games, I was able to find a French player and I got a picture and autograph with him. When I found him, he was searching for someone and while I was taking my picture with him, a huge crowd gather around him and then someone scoped him out but I got my autograph.


Although the games were excited, my family was waiting outside so just before the game finished, I made my way to meet my family for dinner at the McDonalds. On my way to the restaurant, I found the BBC broadcaster centre and while I was passing by, the front door opened, I saw someone that looked familiar. Then, I approached them and asked someone to take a picture and since the crowd was just behind me. Then, they promptly closed the door and left via the back door.


After dinner, I decided that it was our last day at the Olympic Park and therefore my last opportunity to do shopping at the biggest shop of the Olympic Games. Therefore, I went with my brother and we had the best shopping of the day.


After an amazing shopping experience, we explored the entire Olympic Park until very late and then left the park just before closing. We left around the park around midnight through the South Gate and then took the bus back to the house.


On Day 4, I decided that after three days of non-stopping activities including the Opening Ceremony, I took a rest as I had a lot of things plans for the remaining time of the games. My husband went back to work, and me and my brother decided to watch the games on TV and spent some time together as my brother was on vacation from Mexico and I took the two weeks as holiday. After a relax day of watching the games on TV, we had an amazing dinner all together, which was the highlight of my day.


On Day 5, I decided that we should travel around London City in order visit the famous sights with my brother. We did some touristy things and went to Buckingham Palace. We had a lovely lunch and returned home to prepare dinner. We enjoyed a lovely family dinner and made plans for the next day, as I would be a day packed with activities.


On Day 6, we had a very packed day as we a table tennis game at the ExCel Centre in London and a football game at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff. Therefore, the logistic needed to be almost perfect.


After breakfast, we took the bus around 9.30am towards Canning Town and then a further bus towards the ExCel Centre. We entered the ExCel centre via the main door and everything was decorated in orange. This venue is a multi-event venue so lots of people were at the centre. We were all there to see the quarterfinal for the singles and doubles of the men’s session of the table tennis as this was my husband’s favourite sport.


After the session was finished, we took the bus back home and arrived home around 1pm. Immediately after this, we took the car as we needed to drive to Cardiff for our football match which start at 5pm.


On our way to Cardiff, we made a quick stop for lunch as we running late. However, the closest we got to the stadium, the slower we get as there were a lot of people going to the stadium. We were going to attend a double session, in the first game Mexico was playing, however, the second game Great Britain was playing, therefore it was going to be a packed game.


We arrived to Cardiff and followed the directions to the parking lot near the university. We parked, then we took the bus towards the city centre and finally we walked at the stadium as it is in the middle of the city centre.


We arrived during the second half of the Mexico vs Switzerland game and saw it at the lower level, where we saw Mexico won and get closer to winning an Olympic gold. At the end of that game, we made our way to our seats in order to see the Great Britain game. However, I bought the tickets to see the Mexican game and it was an amazing surprise that our double session included Great Britain. The uniqueness about this game, it that this was the first time in the history of the Olympic Games that a Great Britain team was formed as the logistics behind one team instead of four teams (England, Scotland, Wales or North Ireland) are difficult to achieve.


After an amazing football session and a day packed full of adventures, we returned home and, on our way back, we stopped for a proper dinner as it was a non-stopping kind of day. We returned home late night without any regrets as the following day was a day to rest for my brother and I, as my husband was going to work.


On Day 7, my brother and I decided to go to Westfield Stratford shopping mall for a little retail therapy, as I promised him. After lunch, we took the bus towards Stratford City and we spent all the afternoon shopping. My husband was able to join us for dinner and was shocked to see the number of things we bought in one afternoon.


We needed to take advantage of the day, since this was the last day of access to the mall for the general public as this was the transportation hub for the Olympic Park. After today, the only way to gain access to the shopping mall was to have a ticket to enter the Olympic Park or the cinema. Therefore, I decided that since I wanted to returned to Westfield, I needed to get tickets to the cinema to see the games on the big screen.


On Day 8, we were going to Kensington Gardens in order to enter the Sochi Park, which was dedicated to the 2014 Winter Olympic Games. We were going to attend the ice figure staking show, where the Russian performers were former Olympic athletes. Since the event was around 7.15pm, we only planned half day.


My brother and myself decided to have a lazy morning while my husband went to the office. We spent the morning watching the games on TV. After lunch and around midday, we left home via bus all the way towards the city centre. Once we reached Trafalgar Square, we took another bus and we dropped at Hyde Park south gate entrance.


We decided to dropped at Hyde Park as it had the biggest Olympic store opened to the general public. Therefore, we went retail crazy and bought just essential souvenirs for both of us as this was the last opportunity to buy souvenirs from all the sports. This is because most venues only have souvenirs of the sports that they host.


After our shopping, we decided to walk towards Kensington Gardens where Sochi Park was, as it was a nice sunny day. We arrived to Sochi Park and I saw that we had a lot of time before the show. During this time, we explored the exhibition about the Winter Olympic Games whilst enjoying a bit of the Russian culture and food. After this, we entered the souvenir shop and I was able to buy souvenirs from two different Olympic games on the same day.


After our visit, we queued to enter the show while waiting for my husband. We were able to enjoy the show in a half empty stadium as it was midweek therefore, our seats were upgrade.

After the show, I was able to get two autographs with pictures for my collection. After an amazing show, we took the bus home and stopped for dinner in order to make plans for our weekend.


On Day 9, since it was Saturday and one of the most important days of the games, we decided to get tickets for the Vue Cinema. These tickets were free and gave us access to the Westfield which was opened on regular hours. Therefore, this was looking to be a very memorable day.


After lunch, we took the bus to Stratford City and with our tickets we gained access to Westfield Stratford. During our day at Westfield, we were able to see lots of athletes as they were all wearing their athletes’ accreditations and since I had a manual depicting all the codes, I could decipher their sports.


We made our way to the cinema; we bought some popcorns and snacks, and we were ready to enjoy a night full of athletics in the biggest screen ever. This was the day that Great Britain won three gold medals and the media christening this as Super Saturday. Inside the cinema, we were able to enjoy the fact that the screen room was empty and we were able to cheer and shout without people being annoyed about this.


After an amazing day at the cinema, we decided to relax and enjoy some shopping as this was still Saturday and we were spending all day together. After an amazing day at Westfield, we decided to return home via bus.


On Day 10, we went towards the O2, which was the Greenwich Arena during the Olympic Games. Although the arena was restricted via ticket, the O2 was opened to the general public as the Jamaica House was there.


Around midday, we took the bus towards the O2 and after passing an airport-type security. We were hungry and we made our way to Nandos (a chicken restaurant) for lunch.


After lunch, we made our way to the Jamaican House which was celebrating their 50th anniversary of the independence. While we were there, we saw Usain Bolt competing and won a gold medal again. At the moment of winning, the entire house burst in celebration and we were lucky to enjoy this with them.


After enjoying the celebration with the Jamaicans, we stopped at their souvenir shop and enjoyed a funny photographic session with the funny hats of the shop. It was an amazing day and we decided to go back home via bus.


On Day 11, we attended the Women’s football semi-final at Wembley Stadium on the evening and since it was midweek my husband went to the office before the game. However, my brother and I spent half day shopping at Oxford Circus.


After a lovely breakfast at home, we took the bus towards Oxford Circus and dropped in front of Hamleys as I wanted to show the Harry Potter collection to my brother, as he is also a fan.


After our detour, we took the underground towards Wembley Stadium and since we were very early, we enjoyed the walk from the station to the main entrance without rush. We arrived to our gate and waited outside from my husband to arrive in order to enter all together. Before arriving to our seats, we stopped to buy some snack as we had time before the game as it started at 5pm.


After entering the stadium, we took the never-ending escalators to the 4th floor. However, I was glad that our seats were on the top of the third level instead than in the highest level.

After the game and on our way towards the train station, we stopped at a street food van where my brother enjoyed his first proper British burger and he felt is love with them as he loves the grilled onions.


After lunch, we took the train back to the city centre and dropped at Waterloo. Since we were near the river, we decided to see the Thames lights as all the bridges of London were lighted up to celebrate the Olympic Games.


After this, we walked towards Southwark Cathedral in order to see the Swiss House at night, however, we were only able to enter the local pub within the house as everything else was close. Since I was furious about the closure, they gave us some Swiss chocolates and some pins depicting the Swiss flag.


After enjoying some Swiss beer and snacks, we returned home as we had an amazing day. We arrived home around midnight.


On Day 12, we stayed at home as the last five days had been non-stopping with ups and downs and packed with lost of things. Therefore, we stayed and watched the football as it was men’s the semi-final. The game started at 5pm and it was an amazing game as Mexico won. With this result, Mexico reached the final of the Olympic Games for the first time and we celebrated Mexican style with tequila.


On Day 13, we decided that this day we would visit as many hospitality houses in London as possible ending at the Brazil House, where we would wait for my husband as he had to work. Therefore, in order to cover as many houses as possible, we needed to be organised and have an excellent time management.


After an amazing breakfast at home, we took the bus towards St Katherine Docks to visit the Denmark House. On our way to the house, we saw an amazing replica of a Viking ship and a Lego version of the complete Olympic Park. While there, we enjoyed the Danish hospitality which included a complementary Danish hot dog.


After this, we walked towards Tower Bridge where we saw the Olympic rings decorating the bridge. The Olympic rings folded when the bridge opened, making this an amazing and unique sight.


After an amazing walk, we took the bus towards Southward Cathedral again in order to see the Switzerland House fully opened. While there, we saw some Swiss players on TV and enjoyed the hospitality of the Swiss and their chocolates. I also able to collect more free pins in order to decorate my Olympic lanyard.


After enjoying the Swiss House, we walked towards Southbank until St Paul’s Cathedral where we had two photo sessions with two different Wenlock sculpture.


After my photo session, we took a bus towards Westminster Abbey where we found a sculpture depicting a gymnastic athlete. After this, we continued walking towards the Italian House which was located at the Queen Elizabeth II Conference Centre. At the entrance, there was a huge sign depicting the name of the house where I took more photographs. Inside the house, I was expecting free pins that I did not get and my brother was expecting to see some Italian cars but he was disappointed also.


After a disappointment trip to the Italian House, we made our way via bus towards Trafalgar Square where we dropped at Canada House. However, we unable to enter as it was private house just for Canadian citizens.


After another disappointment visit, we took a bus towards Somerset House where the Casa Brazil was hosted. Since Brazil was the next Summer Olympic in 2016, I was excited with the anticipation. While we were there, my brother was too tired or bored to go with me to see the exhibition and instead he found a place to sit and enjoyed the nice Brazilian snacks.


Therefore, I made my way to the free exhibition which depicted the construction for the new Olympic facilities and ended in a souvenir shop. This shopping made my day, as with this I was able to have souvenirs of two future Olympic Games, one summer and one winter.


After my amazing shopping, we waited for my husband to arrive and enjoyed an amazing evening. We witness the sunset while relaxing and enjoying the Brazilian beer. After this, we had dinner around this area and after an amazing day, we returned home.


On Day 14, we decided after the previous day of house hopping to stay home and relax. We watched the games on TV and enjoyed a family dinner as my husband was working all day.


On Day 15, we decided to also stay home and relax while watching the games on TV. After dinner, we planned our next day as we were all excited to see Mexico played the men’s football final.


On Day 16, we decided to spend the full day at Hyde Park as they built a multi-sport screening area with lots fun day activities.


After an amazing breakfast, we took the bus towards the North Greenwich station where we took the underground to Marble Arch. The entrance was free to the general public; however, free tickets were provided to access the VIP section and we had tickets.


After an expedite entrance with the tickets, we decided no to access the VIP entrance as there was a closest area just between the main screen and the VIP section. Since we arrived during the first half of the game, we spread around in order to find places to sit. During the half-time period, a lot of people left their places and we were able to find each other and sat together to see the final of the game.


The ambience of the game was amazing as the crowd was divided making this an amazing day to celebrate. We were able to see Mexico win the game and then waited around to see the team received their gold medal.


After enjoying lunch, we decided to take the underground towards Canary Wharf in order to see the super yachts that were docking around there. We were able to see the German Federation cruise and other yachts belonging to private citizens like Bill Gates. After this, we decided to return home.


On Day 17, I decided to enjoy every single minute as it was the last day of the games and the closing ceremony. Therefore, I decided that before checking in at the Eton Manor to have a last visit to the Samsung display and the shop to get last minute souvenirs and free pins.


After an early breakfast, I made my way to Eton Manor very early around 9am and I exchanged my access card as only had the Opening Ceremony code. After this, I made my way to the souvenir shop for last minute shopping and then entered the Acer House and the Samsung House where I got new free pins. After this, I was able to check in on time at 10.30am.


After checking in, I grabbed two lunch bags as this was going to be a very long day as I had a rehearsal and then the show. In this case, our holding area was at Eton Manor and therefore, the walk to the stadium was a long one so I wanted to do this the least amount of times. We waited under a shade until midday, then we were ready to go to the stadium for my first ever rehearsal of the Closing Ceremony.


On our way to the Stadium, I picked my radio and walked all the Olympic Park. We entered the stadium on Bridge A; however, my position was on the opposite side of the entrance which gave me the opportunity to take photos at every step of the way until I reached the Olympic torch which was just below my position.


Once we reached our positions, we had a very long wait and we saw all the other performance as this was the final rehearsal for them and first for us. Our rehearsal stopped after the performance of One Direction, however, I thought it was a recording but they were actually singing live.


After this, we made our way back to Eton Manor holding area. On our way back, at Bridge A was the location of the main shop and I wanted to know if it was opened. However, on the entrance a group of teenagers was entering the gate and they were recognised as One Direction by my younger colleagues, so we stopped to take some photos.


After reaching the holding area, we changed into our outfits and I prepared my kit (camera, water, wallet and lunch) which matched my outfit. Then, we made our way to the stadium again as the it was time for the show. Before arriving to my position, I decided that since the stadium was empty it was the perfect time to shop for closing ceremony souvenirs and then arrived to my position and waited for the show to start.


After what looked like a very long time, the show began and I wanted to see the show since I only saw it for the first time that more. However, I wanted to see the show but that was impossible to do while doing my job as my back was facing the stadium. Then my performance stopped during the athletes’ parade, which in this case was simultaneously reducing the entrance time.


After the parade, I found an empty seat next to the press photographers where I sat and enjoyed the concert without distractions. I was able to take amazing photographs from a place assigned for this. The concert was full of the best British music from artist that I would never have the privilege to see and I had the best seats for free. The final part of the ceremony was done by The Who which is the most iconic British band still alive.


After the show ended, I made my way to Eton Manor while the athletes walked towards the Olympic Village. However, since I was so tired, I took a ride on the buggy back to Eton Manor to pick my things. Finally, I took the bus back home.


After the games, the hype was still around however, I was able to continue shopping as all the items related to the games were 80% at Westfield Stratford City and every store around. Although, the Olympic Games were over the Paralympic Games were about to start and the Olympic spirit was able to carry on through the Paralympic Games making of this experience a six-week adventure.


I was in a very unique position as I was living in Great Britain since London won the bid and then I moved to London in 2008 to witness the preparations. However, my experience was enhanced since 2011 when the I applied to participate as ceremony volunteer performance.


Additionally, the experience of the games lasted for six weeks instead of the usual two weeks, however, living in London prolonged my Olympic experience as the Olympic spirit was carried through the Paralympic Games and ended with the parade of Great Britain athletes from both the Olympic and Paralympic games on 12th September 2012.


The legacy of the Olympic games is still alive and has lasted until present day and will carried out as long as there are sporting events within the former Olympic park, currently known as the Queen Elizabeth II Olympic Park.


The legacy of the games for me will last in the amount of unique memorabilia I was able to collect before and during the games like free pins and autographs tickets, which I just finished framing and are displayed at my home.


However, this adventure was so memorable for me that I decided to share it and in 2015 I wrote a book depicting in detail my experience from the day that London won the bid in 2005 until 2015, three years after the games in order to depict the legacy on the citizens of East London in particularly. My book is called My London 2012 Olympic Story” and is available in Amazon.


This slideshow requires JavaScript.

0 views0 comments

コメント


bottom of page